1 Comment

No never, no more

It was only a pebble from the stream, bright ‘n glistening in the sunshine. When I showed Ethan, in spite of knowing he’d tell, it was ‘cos I hardly thought anyone’d care, ‘cepting it was pretty.

Was I ever wrong!

Pa shouted a bit, like his hog’d won a race, but Ma looked worried, ‘n after a while Pa went quiet, too. Then they took me to the Stone House (us kids called it a house, seeing it wasn’t a barn or such, but nobody lived there, ‘n we never rightly understood what it was for), ‘n took my stone off’f me, though I hollered. Then they locked it away, where it couldn’t glitter no more.

I think of it sometimes in the sunshine, all soft ‘n yellow ‘n gleaming, but I never can see why they were scared of it, or of the strangers they said’d come after it.

I’ve been away from VisDare far too long.

Here’s the prompt (I’m not sure I looked at it very carefully), and links to all the other tales.

Unusually, this wasn’t my first idea for this prompt. That was a wild, sprawling, Fitzcarraldo-esque misadventure, featuring a con-artist who, having fallen for a good girl, attempts to evade jail and save his reputation by spending his entire misgotten fortune buying land and building a city house in the heart of the jungle – an ultimately doomed attempt to prove that his apparent scam was actually a genuine attempt to found a new community. There was no way I was ever going to do justice to that in 150 words. I’m going to be intrigued to see if anyone else managed it.

One comment on “No never, no more

  1. […] Alex Brightsmith / @AlexBrightsmith – “No Never, No More”  […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

