Leave a comment

VisDare? Indifference

My face aches, but I compose a smile, knowing that if I fail to force it into my eyes it will be no more than a mechanical baring of the teeth, first cousin to snarl. It seems to satisfy the photographer, and it would be harsh to fault him for that. I know too well that what I have been told as empty flattery a thousand times is true:

“You, mademoiselle, you are an artist.”

I am, I had to be. I am my own canvas, and not one of those thousand guesses it.

We continue, mannequins disposed at the photographer’s whim. They bring out parasols, and my heart quails, but despite the corset I manage to hold both the parasol and my smile. I knew that the corset was too tight, but Elena is on the shoot today, and I had to match her waist. I watch her in sidelong glances as the afternoon fades, and I realize that even this too tight corset is not tight enough – and I had been sure that it was. She is just nineteen, and it is all a game to her, and she will take my living away from me, carelessly.

It is almost evening when her heel catches on a paving slab. She stumbles, and stretches awkwardly to catch her balance, ungainly for one fleeting moment. And in that moment I see the unmistakeable line of boning below her gown, and she knows what I have seen. And in that moment her mask slips, and I understand that she is no more indifferent than I.

This was supposed for be for VisDare, but it came out far too long and I hadn’t the heart to cut it. Follow the link to see what Angela Goff’s masters of brevity have made of the same prompt.

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

