2 Comments

Pirates of Industry

I think I’ve commented before on the risk that should my writing ever be liberated from the need to pay the mortgage by other means it might suffer from the lack of stimulation (it’s a risk, for the record, that I’m more than willing to take). I had a beautiful example of the sort of cross pollination that I’d miss a few weeks ago.

I am studying, unlikely though this may seem, for an accountancy qualification, and I’ve recently started a module that I know is going to be one of my least favourite – too much business theory, not enough numbers. Struggling to engage with the textbook, particularly given the insistent distraction of an idea I was kicking around for Michael Wombat’s current Anthology Club project, I found myself fitting the principles of strategic planning around the lives of my pirate crew. What would their mission statement be? What are their goals? To what extent is their strategy dictated by the internal resources available?

Well, childish though it may be, it worked. I started to take an interest in a subject that I’m not naturally inclined to take seriously, and I gradually dropped the piratical analogies – they’re not very helpful when you get on to market segmentation. Pirates don’t buy much toothpaste*. And then I reached this statement:

‘Unique resources are particularly valuable and an important source of competitive advantage.”
(BPP Learning Media)

… and, as I was getting tired and fretful and somewhat lacking in focus, I wondered about my pirate crew again, and what their unique resource might be, and I realised that it was Eskya. Now the rest of the crew haven’t necessarily worked this out (I very much doubt they’ve got an accountancy qualification between them), but more worryingly, I hadn’t either. You’re going to like Eskya, I hope – cynical, permanently amused, always in the thick of the fight but always a little aloof – but I hadn’t thought of him as my hero. I’d reserved that role, rather selfishly, for my narrator. She might get to keep it, and she might not … but either way, I certainly never expected to see her crew in a new light because of a textbook on business analysis.

*Oh gods. Oral hygiene. Yet another tangential aspect of Khyran civilisation with which to pointlessly distract myself .

2 comments on “Pirates of Industry

  1. Pirates, I imagine, use the dental hygiene techniques of medieval Britain: a soft cloth, rinse with water, and chewing aromatic herbs. Also, they poo over the side of the ship, although this need not be made the subject of a story.

    Like

    • Hmm, the aromatic herbs might make it in though, given that the Hoysarn have certainly got scurvy and the pirates, unaware of this, are puzzled by their lethargy, bad skin and missing teeth.
      Yep, far too much backstory in this … I am so looking forward to it getting a sound editorial kicking that I don’t have to self administer 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Fiction Trials

The struggle is real...

petebarr

Stills, video, thoughts.

The Addicted Writer

Writing stories people want to read

Mathew Lyons

WRITER & HISTORIAN

Project Gemini

The adventures of a dad of three, beginning to explore the world of writing.

Esther Chilton

Writer, Tutor and Editor

Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

Musings and books from a grunty overthinker

UlstermanBooks

Author DW Ulsterman

The Daily Tales of Gregg Savage

Every day, I write a unique story for you to share and enjoy.

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic