Leave a comment

Grey

Though he had promised me peace to read, he hesitated in the doorway.

“Try to remember that it’s not all black and white, try to think – ”

This from my father, who had not brought me up to see the world in shades of grey. My contempt froze the words on his lips, and at last he walked away, defeated. Yet he was my father, and for that I had not reported the discrepancies when I first found them, and though I had demanded to see the real books I had agreed, at his request, to come home, and to read them in the office that we had once expected would be mine. It was mine for this one evening, and I read.

They were not black and white indeed. It was red that quickly came to dominate the bottom line, and here, in his office, overlooking the shop floor, I knew what that red meant. It meant redundancies. It meant small suppliers with no one to supply. It meant a town dying on its feet. And what else did it mean?

I sat there long into the night, long after the ledgers had told me everything they could, and I was a long, long time answering that last question.

It meant that I, too, must learn to see the world in shades of grey.

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

