Leave a comment

VisDare: Carefree

My eyes swept idly across the photographs tacked up behind my client’s desk, stopping at one I must have seen a dozen times: a smiling girl free-wheeling on her bicycle. A carefree girl, a glorious girl, a girl with a radiant smile and, perhaps, with the sun in her eyes – for her eyes, I realised for the first time, held no reflection of her smile.

She finished her call, and I asked, surprised by my own urgency

“Who took that one?”

She didn’t turn round. She knew which one, and she watched me steadily as she gave me the name I expected, smiling sadly. No carefree grin, this one, but a smile with no pretence and no illusions.

“You didn’t believe me.”

No anger, no resignation. Only dawning hope.

“I was willing to give you the benefit of the doubt.”

“And now?”

“We’ll nail him. We’ll nail the bastard.”

Another bleak reaction to an apparently light-hearted VisDare prompt. I should get out more. You should go and have a look at the other responses.

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

