7 Comments

VisDare: Memory

It makes me shudder, that picture. I suppose that sounds odd, when I keep it in my office. Perhaps I keep it here because it was taken on a perfect day, a day I’d been allowed to tie my hair back any old how, and spend time with my father.

Yes, he loved his butterflies. Loved them so much that he pursued them and poisoned them and pierced them with pins. It’s strange that I was allowed to play with that one. It must have been a reject, marred somehow. That seems apt. There was something damaged in me long before I ever met my husband.

Perhaps that’s why I really keep the picture, as if one day it might help me to remember how to be that little girl again, seeing only the beauty, instead of the butterfly, pierced by my husband’s love.

test

Inspired by this week’s Visdare prompt, but told by Chrsitine Ness, of whom, more later. For now, you should really go and see the other responses. Really. What are you waiting for? Go

7 comments on “VisDare: Memory

  1. Sadly, that’s often how love turns out. I know it was for me with the pathological on-off relationship that I had for more than 21 years. Real love doesn’t make us lose ourselves, but obsession will.
    This was beautifully and hauntingly written.

    Like

  2. Love how you compared her current situation to the butterflies her father once kept. This is really good. 🙂 great job!

    Like

  3. wow. This is really good. You captured my full attention with your words.

    Like

  4. Thought provoking and haunting, lovely words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

