4 Comments

#Smashwords31 Arbitrarily defined period 15

On Goodreads this was posted in time for my self imposed midnight July 31st deadline, but – forgive me – I couldn’t face putting all the links in again, and I took the RSS feed off a few months ago so . . . 

Well, I didn’t give up, but I did get distracted – flash fiction games, my first smartphone, ducklings . . . you know, stuff – so, without further ado, the home straight:

22: Familiar by Carol Ratchenski is one of those nice finds, a book I probably wouldn’t have looked twice at if I hadn’t had a reason to be looking for something new. It’s coming of age story in a dysfunctional family, but immediately engrossing.

23: Masquerade by Susanne Alleyn just barely qualifies as a novella, a little treat to keep me going because I haven’t finished reading a story (other than flash, obviously) all month, and it played deliciously with my expectations all along.

24: Ode to Pete Rose by Samuel Cisneros is a book that reminded me that whilst, for me, most of the time, it’s all about the story, sometimes it’s actually all about the tone. I was just caught up in this, despite my at best borderline interest in either bildungsroman or baseball.

25: Deadly Benefits by Ryn Pitts is shaping up as a nice little medical thriller with a hint of something wider.

26: Nefarious North edited by Karen Blake-Hall is an anthology of crime shorts – so there’s almost bound to be something in there to tickle your fancy.

27: Still Life With Murder is by P B Ryan, yes, that PB Ryan, bona fide award winning PB Ryan, just to remind you that Smashwords isn’t just for Indies. As I keep saying, you’ll be surprised what you might find.

28: Bob Moore: No Hero by Tom Andry is something I’ve been avoiding this month – it’s funny. Knowing I was going to have to read a lot of first pages to find 31 books I liked (I’m picky), I didn’t want to do anything to make the odds longer, and humour’s so personal that I know if I looked specifically at comic novels I’d be looking all the longer. This slipped under my defences because it’s primarily a detective story, set in a world where superheroes are a fact of life, and it had me quietly grinning to myself on the bus.

29: Xenolith by A Sparrow starts intriguingly, and I’m tantalised by just what it’s going to turn into.

30: The Birthday Dragon by Polo Shawcross is billed as scifi but reads as fantasy, and nicely matter-of-fact fantasy at that, with an honest , everyday tone.

31: Falling Night by Lee Larsen seems to be something vampirish with small-town teenage protagonists. I’m not sure of much more than that yet, but you may have gathered by now that that’s just the way I like it.

So there we are, 31 books – novels, anthologies, novellas – from Smashwords that I’m not embarrassed to link to. If I haven’t included yours, I probably didn’t realise you were on Smashwords – sorry. If there wasn’t one book in all that lot you were willing to take a chance on, well, I tried, and I’m glad I did. And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go away and read something cosy and familiar that I already know. And then I’ll start on my new reading list.

4 comments on “#Smashwords31 Arbitrarily defined period 15

  1. Thanks for the nod on Deadly Benefits!

    Like

  2. Thanks for adding Nefarious North!

    Like

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

