1 Comment

#Smashwords31 Day 5: Why am I doing this?

Why am I doing this? Why?

That’s not the self pity I’ve been verging on all week. It’s Friday, I have booze, there are swifts . . . and I’m still not sure exactly why this seemed like such an all-fire good idea in the bath on Monday night.

It’s partly because I want to do whatever I can to support Smashwords. (Here’s an interview that might help to explain why: I just think there’s something laudable in their whole approach.)

But realistically, my slim weight isn’t going to make an ounce of difference to Smashwords’s success or failure – and in fact they seem to be pretty much set fair to carry on already.

It’s got more, I think, to do with feeling rather guilty.

You see, the thing is, I do what so many people do – I pick up a book because I’ve read something else by the author, or because I’ve heard an extract on the radio, or it’s been recommended by a friend. Or I don’t try anything even that adventurous, but just pick up an old friend from the shelf. And then I don’t get round to reviewing it. Half the time I don’t even remember to put it up on Goodreads. Given that I spend £2 every week on a Saturday newspaper and throw half of it away without a glance, and given that I know how nice* it is to get a positive review, that’s pretty shocking, really. Even without a sale on there’s a lot of good stuff out there that’s cheaper than my Saturday paper, and I hardly ever give it a chance.

So I’ve cornered myself. 31 days. 31 recommendations. And in case you thought that I’d weaselled out of it today, that I was going to say that I only promised you an average of one a day . . .

I’ve only read a few pages of this, obviously – you’re not going to be getting more than first impressions for most of this month, but it must be a good sign that I just broke off to read more than I meant to of The Phoenix Affair, an engaging spy thriller by former USAF Colonel Paul Clark.

 

*I had an English teacher who objected violently to the use of ‘nice’ in place of some more descriptive word, and I think that this is one of those times, but . . . tough. It‘s late, I have, as I may have mentioned, booze at my elbow, and that will have to wait for another blog.

 

 

One comment on “#Smashwords31 Day 5: Why am I doing this?

  1. […] I picked this book up last July, way outside my comfort zone, as part of a rash and ill-thought-out challenge that I had imposed on myself, and I loved it unreservedly – even the sex, and that, as you’ll […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

