2 Comments

In which our intrepid heroine sets herself a challenge

I do bang on about Smashwords a lot, I know. And there is (whisper it) an awful lot of pap on there. I know that, too, though I still feel an absolute heel for saying it in public.

However, Smashwords are having a Summer/Winter sale throughout July (or a Winter/Summer sale, if you’re looking at the world from that direction), so I thought I’d set myself a challenge.

I keep saying Smashwords is worth a look. Well okay then. That means there must be thirty one books on there that I won’t be embarrassed to recommend. One a day. That can’t be too hard.

I’m going to start by cheating just a little, because it didn’t occur to me to do this until rather late in the day. That means that today’s book isn’t one that I’ve found in the sale, it’s one that’s been on my ‘overdue a review’ shelf for rather too long. So – two birds with one stone. Flying start, I reckon.

The book is The Lives and Loves of Hanna Lee , and the author is KP Webster.

I’ve been putting off a review because I don’t love it quite as much as I wish I did, but I don’t love it for reasons that say a lot more about me than they say about the book.

Well-written and profligately inventive, this is a book that almost (but not quite) got me to relax and enjoy the sex scenes. There’s my sticking point, you see. There’s really an awful lot of sex (I have no one to blame but myself for stumbling into a book that was clearly not going to be my cup of tea in this respect), and I tend to read sex scenes the way small children traditionally watch Dr Who when the daleks turn up (I say traditionally, but I’ll divert at this point to ask – did you hide behind the sofa? I don’t know anybody who hid behind the sofa). Having said that, the fact that I read the book anyway should tell you just how much other good stuff it has.

It’s a cracking book and I’ll write it a proper review one day when I’ve successfully turned down my prudery for a bit and reread.

2 comments on “In which our intrepid heroine sets herself a challenge

  1. I really must get around to putting my books up on Smashwords too one day. The trouble is, whenever I think to look into it (and other stuff, such as SCRIBD and librarything), my first instinct is that I’d far rather be writing.

    Like

  2. Sorry, that was going to develop into a far longer meander, until I realised that it would be better placed in a letter to you. So that’s where I’ve gone. to do that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

wtf, subconscious?

Dreams, drawings and psychoanalytic fun

harm·less drudg·ery

defining the words that define us

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

unbolt me

the literary asylum

"Where we're going, we don't need roads."

On sports and life and other topics at hand ...

Mum's The Word!

Life through the eyes of a mum, wife, woman

Rose English UK

Read-a-holic

The FarFlung Sofa

The writings and ramblings of Sam Kurd

Physics and Art

The strange case of Dr. August and Mr. von Orth.

Fibro Fog Flash Fiction

Small novels, big tales

The Noisy Songbird

Verbosity in abundance

#FlashMobWrites

#FlashMob Rules.

Waiting for Awen

Awen, Druid for Inspiration, is found everywhere.

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Literary Fuzz

The book blog of Jordan Reynolds

James Harrington's Blog of Geek and Writing

All Things Writing and Geek, in one neat little blog!

